Borough Council

New Hope has an elected 7-member Borough Council which plays a central role in borough government. Council sets policy, enacts legislation, adopts budgets, controls expenditures, appoints advisory commissions and boards, and hires employees. Council members are elected to four year terms, with either 3 or 4 members up for election every two years.

Council elects a president, vice-president, and president pro tem from its ranks. The president, in cooperation with council, establishes standing committees and makes appointments thereto. These standing committees generally consider all matters pertaining to a particular area of public policy, such as land use regulation, historic preservation, or recreation, and make recommendations to the full council.


  • 7 p.m.
  • 3rd Tuesday of each month
  • New Hope Borough Community Room
    125 New Street
    New Hope, PA 18938

Workshop meetings are held at 4 p.m. on the first Monday of each month in the Community Room. Meeting dates and times are subject to change.

The public is encouraged to attend and to participate fully at all public meetings.

Executive sessions are held prior to the regular meetings at 6 p.m. in the Borough office building at 123 New Street and are not open to the public.