National Flood Insurance Program

In 1968, Congress created the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) in response to the rising cost of taxpayer funded disaster relief for flood victims and the increasing amount of damage caused by floods. The National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) is the primary source for flood insurance in the U.S

Nearly 20,000 communities across the United States and its territories, including New Hope Borough, participate in the NFIP by adopting and enforcing floodplain management ordinances to reduce future flood damage. In exchange, the NFIP makes federally backed flood insurance available to homeowners, renters, and business owners in these communities.

Property Owners

Property owners are required to purchase flood insurance to get secured financing to buy, build, or improve structures in Special Flood Hazard Areas (SFHAs). Lending institutions that are federally regulated or federally insured must determine if the structure is located in a SFHA and must provide written notice requiring flood insurance.


Flood insurance is available to any homeowner, renter, or business owner located in a community participating in the NFIP. Flood insurance can be purchased from a licensed private insurance company or an independent property and casualty insurance agent. Talk to an insurance agent if you have questions, would like additional information, and/or are ready to purchase a flood insurance policy. Your policy will take effect 30 days after your purchase.

Additional Options

If your insurance agent is unfamiliar with the NFIP or is not licensed to sell National Flood Insurance, you have several additional options:

  • Find an agent serving your area
  • Find companies that participate in the NFIP and offer flood insurance
  • Contact the NFIP at 888-379-9531 to request a referral